ePortfolio

The idea of an ePortfolio is relatively new to me.  I first heard of them during the fall semester, my first semester as a student in the teacher education program.

I see many benefits to creating an ePortfolio for myself.  First of all, it’s a great way to show off my talents to prospective employers in a way that demonstrates not only my teaching proficiency but also my technical savvy.  Additionally, an ePortfolio is a great way to organize all of the work that I’m doing for my classes and keep it accessible.  I wish there was a record like this of some of the work that I did in high school or earlier in college that has long since been lost on the hard drives of defunct computers.  This creates a record of accomplishments, and could hopefully show growth and improvement over time.

In my future classroom, I could see ePortfolios as a way for my students to document their educational journey, specifically projects that they do in my class.  As a high school math teacher, most homework and tests aren’t really something you’d want in a public portfolio (though maybe there could be a private section for these that students and their parents could access), but certainly I hope to incorporate project-based learning in my classes, and those projects could be included in these portfolios.

Here is an example of a student’s ePortfolio that shows off a group project that he completed in Intermediate Algebra.  I see these being used more in college classes, but there is no reason why we shouldn’t introduce them to high school students.

Here is an example of a tutorial for a high school ePortfolio:

Leave a Reply

